Review: Rock King by Tara Leigh (Nothing but Trouble #1)

 

ROCK KING is available now, and the second book in the Nothing but Trouble series, ROCK LEGEND, is available for pre-order and will release on July 17! Check out some teasers for both titles below.

 

 

Fans of Kristen Callihan and Kylie Scott will scream for this sizzling bad boy rock star romance!

I’m not who you think I am.

Shane Hawthorne has it all. At least, that’s what the headlines say about me. I have millions of fans, awards, more money – and women – than I know what to do with. But what you don’t see is the wreckage I’ve caused. The memories and pain I can’t escape, even when I pour them into music and spin them into gold.

I tried to forget. To lose myself in booze and groupies. It didn’t work. It hurt me and – worse – it hurt my band. That’s the last thing I want to do, so I’m cleaning up my act… starting with Delaney Fraser.

Gorgeous, smart, drama-free, and even nice – Delaney is the perfect “girlfriend.” When I’m with her I don’t have to pretend. It’s like she sees the real me. And I can see a future with her. But that’s dangerous. Because the truth is, Shane Hawthorne doesn’t actually exist. He’s a shield to hide who I really am. Fraud. Runaway. Addict. Murderer.

And it’s impossible to love a lie, right?

 

 

I really need to stop writing this at the beginning of most of my reviews but I can’t because the struggle is real. My expectations going into this book were high. I don’t know if you’ve ever read the Stage Dive series by Kylie Scott (you should because it is amazing) but that’s my favorite rock star romance series ever and every single time I pick up another rock star romance it is impossible for me not to compare them with Stage Dive. I think we can all agree that when you compare a book with your all-time favorite most times they pale in comparison so just keep that in mind when deciding whether you should pick up this book or not if you’re only basing your decision on this review.

From the way ROCK KING is written I think the reader is supposed to feel instant chemistry between the characters, like as soon as they meet. But here’s the thing, I just couldn’t feel it and that made everything that happened as soon as the characters meet—and moments after—feel a bit uncomfortable and a lot forced and way too fast paced. I hate when things go from we-are-strangers to you-are-mine in a heartbeat and that is exactly what happened in this story.

Aside from not enjoying the pace—and the characters—I didn’t find it to be original or refreshing. It was my first time reading something by this author and I expected something more exciting, not the classic a-hole alpha male with troubled past and a lot of issues and the innocent and very dramatic heroine. I also would have LOVED more dialogue, I just love me some great, fun, interesting, get-to-know-me dialogue between the characters and there’s little to almost nothing of that in this book.

The intrigue of wanting to know what had happened to Shane and Delaney in the past in order for them to be the people they are during most of the book is what kept me going and it unfortunately wasn’t as exciting as I expected. When I finally reached that part I wasn’t shocked or intrigued, it sounded like any other story for me, nothing really original.

In a nutshell, this book was a big MEH for me (you know, nothing exciting). From the ratings and reviews I’ve seen surrounding this book, I really do think this is kind of an unpopular opinion so you should definitely add this book to your TBR if it sounds like something you might enjoy.

 

2 / 5 flowers

 

 

Kindle | Universal Link

iBooks | Nook | Kobo | Purchase in Paperback

Add ROCK KING to Goodreads

 

 

Pre-order the next book in the series…

 

Pre-order Now – Releasing July 17!

 

Kindle | Universal Link

iBooks | Nook | Kobo | Purchase in Paperback

Add ROCK LEGEND to Goodreads

 

 

Tara Leigh writes steamy contemporary romance featuring tortured heroes worth lusting after and the women they didn’t know they needed. She attended Washington University in St. Louis and Columbia Business School in New York, and worked on Wall Street and Main Street before “retiring” to become a wife and mother. When the people in her head became just as real as the people in her life, she decided to put their stories on paper. Tara currently lives in Fairfield County, Connecticut with her husband, children and fur-baby, Pixie.

Website | Facebook Profile | Facebook Page | Bookbub | Amazon | Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads

Join Tara Leigh’s Newsletter

Join Tara Leigh’s Reader Group

 

Check these out:

9 Comments

  1. YIKES!! So sorry girlie :(( This is why hyped books scare me so much. They usually never live up to their hype. I hope you enjoy your next read a LOT more!

    1. Happy you enjoyed it more! Now I need to give Stage Dive a reread because I keep craving a swoony rock star romance!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.