Review: Scream All Night by Derek Milman

 

Scream All Night by Derek Milman is available now!!

Read my thoughts on this crazy YA book!

 

 

A darkly hilarious contemporary realistic young adult novel about growing up and finding your place in the world, perfect for fans of Me and Earl and the Dying Girl and Running With Scissors.

Dario Heyward knows one thing: He’s never going back to Moldavia Studios, the iconic castle that served as the set, studio, and home to the cast and crew of dozens of cult classic B-horror movies. It’s been three years since Dario’s even seen the place, after getting legally emancipated from his father, the infamous director of Moldavia’s creature features.

But then Dario’s brother invites him home to a mysterious ceremony involving his father and a tribute to his first film—The Curse of the Mummy’s Tongue. Dario swears his homecoming will be a one-time visit. A way for him to get closure on his past—and reunite with Hayley, his first love and costar of Zombie Children of the Harvest Sun, a production fraught with real-life tragedy—and say good-bye for good. But the unthinkable happens—Dario gets sucked back into the twisted world of Moldavia and the horrors, both real and imagined, he’s left there.

With only months to rescue the sinking studio and everyone who has built their lives there, Dario must confront the demons of his past—and the uncertainties of his future. But can he escape the place that’s haunted him his whole life?

 

AMAZONBARNES & NOBLEBOOKS-A-MILLION | INDIGO | INDIEBOUND

GOODREADS

 

Let me start by saying I don’t know what possessed me into accepting a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I accepted while knowing it wasn’t my kind of read and knowing I wouldn’t love it but stubborn me really wanted to give it a try. And… I have to admit I don’t regret it completely but I’ll just say if I could turn back time I’d most likely skip this book because it really wasn’t for me.

Scream All Night is the most twisted story I’ve ever read. Granted, I mostly read cute, fluffy (and cliche-ish) romance stories but still, I think a lot of you would find this one really twisted too. Half the time I had no idea what was going on—probably because I was distracted most of the time I was supposedly reading—and sometimes it was kind of hard for me to follow all the craziness but it was nice having no idea where the author would take me next or how everything would turn out in the end.
I would tell y’all a bit more about the story but I want you to be surprised when you read it so I’m keeping my mouth shut. The only thing I want you to know is that beneath all the craziness lies a story about family, friendships, love and some creepy stuff.

Also, I have to mention that the originality that went into this book is insane. Props to the author for being able to come up with such a unique story and characters. It was refreshing to read something so out there and so insanely original. There are times when you (a reader) feel like you’ve read just about everything and nothing can surprise you anymore but then stories like this come around and laugh in your face and you realize creativity has no limits.

In a nutshell, I didn’t love this book but I recommend it. I know a lot of you enjoy reading twisted (kind-of-horror) things with eccentric characters so this one is for you guys.
And if you’re like me and you are only interested in cute romance stories then now you know you are probably not going to enjoy this one a lot and you should stay away from it. You’re welcome!

 

2 / 5 flowers

 

Derek Milman has taught at a film school in NYC, worked the front desk of a yoga studio, and had a very short stint as a DJ in a Lower East Side club (if you tipped him well enough, he would pretend to have that New Order B-side no one ever heard of). He began writing YA fiction a few years ago. Scream All Night is his debut novel. Night Flight, coming in 2019 from Little, Brown/Jimmy Patterson will be his second novel for young adults.

Derek currently lives in Brooklyn, where he writes fiction full time, wanders the waterfront staring at the Manhattan skyline, plays video games, and buys lime green hoodies made out of locally-sourced hemp.

 

 

Check these out:

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.